Amazon Valley Chocolate by Haagen Dazs Ice Cream Review

by Ice Cream Maker Reviews on May 24, 2007

Well, I finally found it: Outstanding plain chocolate ice cream. Haagen Dazs’ new “reserve” line has produced at least one amazing flavor: Amazon Valley Chocolate. This ice cream is very very chocolatey. (It’s more of a dark chocolate than a milk chocolate.) It’s smooth and it’s rich. It’s so rich that it’s actually difficult to eat a lot in one sitting (which is probably good since it’s not the healthiest ice cream.) One of the scoops I had before finishing the pint I drizzled with melted peanut butter– I would highly recommend this. But, this ice cream doesn’t need the peanut butter to taste good. It is wonderful on it’s own. Go out and buy some before they discontinue it, trust me. (Hopefully they won’t discontinue it, but if it’s truly good amazon cocoa bean they use, then it could run out.)

  • Flavor: 5
  • Flavor Intensity: 4.5
  • Texture: 5
  • Originality: 3
  • Overall: 5
  • Cost: $3 on sale at Safeway

{ 11 comments… read them below or add one }

jamie February 14, 2008 at 4:01 am

I was on vacation in St. Thomas and I had some gelato called Happy Face that was absolutely to die for. The company, has amazing packaging that describes the gelatos and sorbets they make as 100% Natural, 100% Caribbean. I tasted their mango and kiwi sorbet also and it was just as good as the gelato (their chocolate is the best I have ever had). There really is a differnce when you taste an all natural product made with fresh fruits. I can’t wait to go back to the Virgin Islands….not only to drink lots of rum, but to stuff myself with Happy Face Sorbet and Gelato. Has anyone else ever had it?

Evan March 12, 2008 at 12:35 am

Agree. It’s absolutely the best store bought chocolate ice cream I know of. I hope that they don’t discontinue this product. The funny things is that I am usually a plain vanilla person. But this ice cream is excellent in every way. Bravo HaagenDaz.

Mister E April 1, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Haagen Daaz surely is a solid ice cream. Can’t really say anything negative. But I did come across a brand that had me question Haagen Daaz’s superiority. Laloo’s Goat Milk Ice Cream has a handful of gourmet flavors that are unique and extremely tasty. The deep chocolate is about as good as chocolate ice cream can get. Dark and rich, all natural 77% pure Scharffen Berger cacao.

Check out their website if you are interested in learning more… http://www.goatmilkicecream.com/

Andrew April 6, 2008 at 5:36 pm

Try Ben and Jerry’s Chocolate Therapy. YUMMMM!

joey July 18, 2008 at 10:03 pm

Omg Ihad Happy Face as well! The stuff is perfect.I tried their cinnamon mixed with apple pie chunks. All natural! To die for. Come to the mainland pleaasee!!!!

coocoonutz July 27, 2008 at 7:54 pm

if you are ever in the virgin islands again, try the rum raisin from Happy Face made with white cruzan rum made from the distillery in the virgin islands..you won’t be disappointed

Japanese Ice Cream August 19, 2008 at 9:36 pm

Great site!
Haagen Daaz is a super premium ice cream over in Japan – not sure why, I think it is just because it’s a US product.
I have had their Green Tea ice cream – it was pretty average and their Mont Blanc was fantastic – but expensive.

reviewazon June 11, 2009 at 4:06 am

Thank you so much for this post. I use the reviewazon plugin. Reviewazon is the easy and simple way to add amazon affiliate product to your website.

Teddy October 26, 2009 at 2:59 pm

Well, you were right. They have just discontinued the Reserve line due to poor sales.

Pete December 8, 2009 at 5:04 pm

The Amazon Valley Chocolate tastes very much like the old Godiva Belgian Chocolate to me; both were fantastic. And both got discontinued. I just finished the last pint I could find at a store. :(

Rob Waller May 24, 2010 at 8:23 pm

I was a complete addict to Amazon Valley chocolate. I will do hard labor and get paid only in pints of it. I would special order by the case any price. I’d buy a franchise just to it un-discontinue it somehow if possible. Talk about eating profits. Please just bring it back it’s unforgivable to deny the world (me) this bit of heaven on earth. I can eat one per day and not gain weight and have. Bring it back.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: